Documentation

Your guide to everything Workflow.

Organizing your workflows

In Workflow, you can collect as many workflows you as want to build out a personal automation system. As you create or download new workflows, they are added to the bottom of your workflow list.

Once you’ve collected more than a handful of workflows, you’ll likely want to reorganize them to your preference, duplicate them for convenience, or delete ones you don’t need anymore.

Rearranging workflows

Rearranging your workflows works a lot like rearranging apps on your homescreen. Long press on any workflow for a couple seconds and they’ll start to shake, indicating that they’re available to tap on and rearrange. Once you’re in this rearranging mode, editing tools appear in Workflow’s toolbar.

In this mode, you can drag the workflow to move it, and the others will rearrange around it. When you’ve found your workflow’s new place, let go and tap the Done button in Workflow’s toolbar to confirm your decision. If you have Workflow Sync enabled (with the Sync Workflow Ordering option turned on), your changes will be synced with your other devices.

The order of your workflows in the app will also match the order of workflows in the Today Widget and on Apple Watch. Try placing your most-used workflows near the top of the list so they’ll show up first in the Today Widget and on Apple Watch.

Toggling from the Today Widget

The Workflow Today Widget provides quick and easy access for running your workflows without opening the app. Workflows that have the “Today Widget” workflow type enabled will appear in the Today Widget. You can learn more in Using workflows from the Today Widget.

You can choose which workflows will appear in the widget (and change their ordering) from the widget itself. Tap “Show More” on the upper right corner of the widget to expand it, then tap “Manage Workflows” on the bottom.

You’ll be presented with a screen that allows you to check, uncheck, and reorder workflows. Only checked workflows will appear in the widget. Note that the workflow ordering on this screen matches the ordering of your workflows inside the app. Any reordering here will also be reflected in the app and on Apple Watch.

Toggling from the Apple Watch

Workflow comes bundled with an app for Apple Watch, enabling you to run workflows directly from your wrist. Workflows that have the “Apple Watch” workflow type enabled will appear on your Apple Watch. You can learn more in Using workflows from Apple Watch.

You can choose which workflows will appear on your watch from the watch itself. Simply open Workflow on your Apple Watch, press firmly on the screen, and tap “Show/Hide.” From there, you’ll see a list of all the workflows saved on your iPhone. Use the switches to show or hide workflows from your watch.

Swipe to the right from the Show/Hide page and you’ll see the otpion to change your Complication workflows as well.

Organizing workflows in Settings

You can also manage your Today Widget and Apple Watch workflows from Workflow’s in-app settings.

Tap on the gear icon at the bottom of My Workflows to access Settings. There you’ll find the “Today Widget Workflows” and “Apple Watch Workflows” sections, which allow you to show, hide, and reorder workflows accordingly. In the Apple Watch section, you’ll also see an option for specifying workflows that show up in the Workflow Complication. Learn more in Using workflows from Apple Watch.

Since the ordering of widget and watch workflows match the order in My Workflows, this screen can also be used as a way to rearrange normal workflows.

Note

You can only manage Apple Watch workflows in Settings if a watch is paired to your phone.

Duplicating workflows

You can also easily make a copy of a workflow. This is useful if you want to take an existing workflow and use it as a springboard for creating a new one.

To duplicate, tap and hold on a workflow to enter editing mode. Then tap one or more workflows to select them (their color will darken to show your selection). With at least one workflow selected, tap the [+] button in Workflow’s toolbar and a copy will be created next to your selection. If you use Workflow Sync, the new workflows will also carry over to your synced devices.

Deleting workflows

When it’s time to part ways with workflows, you can easily delete them from your library. After you’ve long-pressed on a workflow to enter editing mode, tap one or more workflows to select them, then tap the trash can icon in Workflow’s toolbar to delete your selection.

Any workflows you delete will be removed from all devices signed in with your Workflow Sync account.

Note

If you’ve accidentally deleted a workflow and need to recover its contents, contact support@workflow.is and we’ll do what we can to assist. Please be aware that we can only help if you have a Workflow Sync account.


Continue on to learn about Syncing your workflows.